A guidebook for cycling the Dales section of the Pennine Bridleway National Trail. Over 140km of mountain biking riding through Lancashire and the Yorkshire Dales, along with an anti-clockwise route round half of the Mary Towneley Loop. 11 circular day MTB routes in the Yorkshire Dales using the Bridleway are also included.



perfect in spring and summer when the Dales are at their most attractive; winter conditions offer a new adventure but the Pennines can be tough in bad weather.


Littleborough, Burnley, Barnoldswick, Long Preston, Settle, Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Dentdale, Garsdale Head, Ravenstonedale, Kirkby Stephen


graded routes from easy, family rides for beginners through to tough challenges for experienced riders; routes can be linked for longer days
Must See

Must See

classic limestone country, including the Yorkshire Three Peaks - Ingleborough, Pen-y-ghent, Whernside; Ribblehead, Garsdale, Ravenstonedale, Mallerstang
17 May 2012
16 Feb 2017
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.2cm
  • Overview

    The northern stages of the Pennine Bridleway, from the Mary Towneley Loop in northern Lancashire through to Ravenstonedale in Cumbria, offer exceptional off-road riding in one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas of Britain, on dedicated, waymarked trails. Classic trails rejuvenated, newly-built river crossings and, most exciting of all, sections of specially-developed bridleway are all out there, just waiting to be discovered!

    This guidebook describes over 200km of the Bridleway, from Summit, near Rochdale, up to Ravenstonedale, through the rugged landscape of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, as well as 11 exciting, graded MTB loops based on the Bridleway but taking in other, less well-known stretches of trail, making a total of 415km of unrivalled mountain biking.

    There's something new here from everyone - from the novice rider to the trail-hardened pro and from cyclists trying the Yorkshire Dales for the first time to those who think they know them well.

    • routes clearly described and illustrated with profiles and OS mapping extracts
    • data on distance, ascent, grading, timing and percentage of route off-road at the start of every description for quick selection
    • full information about local facilities, useful contacts, accommodation and bike shops
  • Contents

    Where to start?
    Getting there
    Who is this guide for?
    When to go
    How far can I ride in a day?
    What type of bike will I need?
    Waymarks and access
    Using this guide
    What to take
    Section 1: The Mary Towneley Loop
    Summit to Hurstwood (anti-clockwise)
    Section 2: A linear description of the Pennine Bridleway
    The Lancashire Link
    Part 1 Hurstwood to Barnoldswick
    Part 2 Barnoldswick to Long Preston
    The Yorkshire Dales
    Part 1 Long Preston to Horton-in-Ribblesdale
    Part 2 Horton-in-Ribblesdale to Garsdale Head
    Part 3 Garsdale Head to Ravenstonedale
    Section 3: Day Loops off the Pennine Bridleway
    Route 1 The Settle Loop
    Route 2 Feizor, Wharfe and Catrigg Force
    Route 3 Clapham, Crummack Dale and Feizor
    Route 4 Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Helwith Bridge and Sulber Nick
    Route 5 Ribblehead to Ling Gill and Horton-in-Ribblesdale
    Route 6 Ribblehead to Dentdale, via The Craven Way
    Route 7 Cam High Road and the Ribble Way
    Route 8 Arten Gill, Dent Head Viaduct and the Driving Road
    Route 9 Garsdale to Dentdale, via Dandra Garth
    Route 10 Lady Anne’s Highway and the Mallerstang Valley
    Route 11 Ravenstonedale, Pendragon Castle & High Dolphinsty

    Appendix A Route Summary Tables
    Appendix B Local Facilities
    Appendix C Useful Contacts
    Appendix D Accommodation
    Appendix E Bike Shops

  • Maps

    Ordnance Survey (www.ordnance survey.co.uk/leisure) provides maps of the area covered in both 1:50,000 (Explorer) and 1:25,000 (Landranger) scales. The most up-to-date 1:50,000 scale mapping has been used in this guidebook, and each route description details the relevant OS map (or maps) required for that ride. From south to north these are:

    • OS Explorer OL21 South Pennines
    • OS Explorer OL41 Forest of Bowland & Ribblesdale
    • OS Explorer OL2 Yorkshire Dales (Southern & Western area)
    • OS Explorer OL19 Howgill Fells & Upper Eden Valley

    Equivalent Landranger maps covering the route are as follows:

    • OS Landranger 103 Blackburn and Burnley (Mary Towneley Loop and Lancashire Link Parts 1 and 2)
    • OS Landranger 98 Wensleydale and Upper Wharfedale (Yorkshire Dales Parts 1, 2 and 3)
    • OS Landranger 91 Appleby-in-Westmorland (Yorkshire Dales Part 3)
  • Updates
    Receive updates by email
    Be notified by email when this book receives an update or correction
    We do not yet have any updates available for this book

    We are always grateful to readers for information about any discrepancies between a guidebook and the facts on the ground. If you would like to send some information to us then please use our contact form. They will be published here following review by the author(s).

  • Reviews
    We do not yet have any reviews for this book

    If you would like to send us a review then please use our contact form. They will be published here shortly.

  • Other eBook Retailers

    Google Play

    Google Play Books available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS

    Google Play


    Kobo eReader devices plus Kobo App available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS



    Kindle Reader devices plus Kindle App available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS

  • Downloads
Keith Bradbury

Keith Bradbury

Keith Bradbury's early interest was in white water and sea canoeing. After trekking in Nepal and canoe guiding in France, a teaching job in Kendal meant the Lake District would be his next playground. Walking and climbing then became new passions, until he was introduced to caving in the Yorkshire Dales.
He has been exploring their hidden places for the last 20 years, either underground with helmet and lamp, or above, on his (t)rusty mountain bike. A member of the Outdoor Writers and Photographers Guild, Keith prides himself on his knowledge of the Lake District and the Northern Dales bridleways.

View Guidebooks by Keith Bradbury