Search Inside

Look inside our books using Google Book Search. Please note that this will take you to an external website. To search our website please use the search box at the top right of the screen.

25% OFF  ·  All printed guidebooks until 19th December 2017

A walking guidebook to climbing all mountains in England over 2000ft - a Cicerone guidebook

Cover of The Mountains of England and Wales: Vol 2 England
9 Oct 2008
17.2 x 11.6 x 2.0cm
No. Maps
No. Photos
80 b/w ill
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Pinterest Share to Google+

The Mountains of England and Wales: Vol 2 England

by John Nuttall, Anne Nuttall
Book published by Cicerone Press

A walking guide to climbing the 253 'Nuttall' mountain summits in England, in a series of 58 walks. These form part of the total of 443 mountain summits in England and Wales which reach the height of 2000ft or more. Routes and summits in the Lake District, Cheviots, North Pennines, Yorkshire Dales, Peak District and Dartmoor.

Buy the complete book

Printed Book
FREE UK 1st class postage
£ 12.99  
eBooks are also available from other Retailers
Cover: Paperback - PVC
Size: 17.2 x 11.6 x 2.0cm
Weight: 340g

Prices include FREE UK First Class postage. We also ship internationally, please see our see our Price Guide for full details.

Windows and Mac OS X - you'll need to install the free Adobe Digital Editions software. eBooks can be printed, but only from the first computer that you download your eBook onto (Full list of supported devices).

Apple iPad - using the Cicerone Guides iPad App, available free from the App Store.

Read more information about eBook formats.

Cicerone guidebooks are now available as ePUBs. You'll need to install a free ePUB reader that supports Adobe DRM.

Read more information about eBook formats.

Want to start reading straight away? Buy both the printed version of a guidebook and get the eBook at 50% discount.

You can download this book direct from the Amazon Kindle store for use on their Kindle device. Amazon also have free Apps available for iPhone, PC, Mac, iPad and Android.

Unfortunately, it isn't possible to print pages with this format.

eBooks purchased from Google Play can be viewed on your computer, Android, or iOS device through the Google Play App.

eBooks purchased from Kobo can only be viewed and downloaded into the Kobo App which allows you to read your eBook on Apple and Android devices. Kobo Desktop is available for Windows and Mac.

Our ebooks are also available to buy through many eBook retailers including:

• Amazon
• Google Play
• iTunes
• Barnes and Noble


There are 443 summits in England and Wales which reach the height of 2000ft, and it is the ambition of many walkers to climb them all. There are 253 such summits in England, and this book describes how to ascend them all in a series of 58 walks.

The summits that achieve this height (and rise above their surroundings by at least 50ft) are described by region, from the Lake District to the Chevoits, on to the North Pennines and Yorkshire Dales, and finally to the Peak District and Dartmoor. They include some of England’s most famous peaks, such as Blencathra, Great Gable and Coniston Old Man in the Lake District, and Kinder Scout in the Peak District. But others have no name on the OS maps.

All these summits take the walker into some of the most beautiful hillwalking areas of England and provide a lifetime’s challenge and enjoyment.

  • Activities
    Readers can register their completion of all the Nuttall summits on
  • Seasons
    All year round.
  • Centres
    Ambleside, Keswick, Kendal for Lake District; Wooler for the Cheviots; Alston and Brough for the North Pennines; Sedbergh, Kirkby Stephen Ingleton and Hawes for the Dales; Glossop for the Peak District; and Okehampton for Dartmoor.
  • Difficulty
    Moderately strenuous on the whole, but all necessarily uphill. Pillar Rock is the only summit that requires a rock climb.
  • Must See
    All can be great, depending on the British weather!

September 2016

A new mountain: Calf Top

An update to the Ordnance Survey geoid model, which plays a part in determining the height of summits, has led to the birth of a new mountain. Calf Top (SD 664 856) in the Yorkshire Dales previously came in a mere 3/4 of an inch short of the all-important 2,000ft mark. However, the latest revision has amended its height to just 1/10 of an inch over 2,000ft - making it officially a mountain. 




Selection of the Tops



1   Lake District - The Northern Fells
2   Lake District - The North Western Fells
3   Lake District - The Western Fells
4   Lake District - The Central Fells
5   Lake District - The Southern Fells
6   Lake District - The Eastern Fells
7   Lake District - The Far Eastern Fells
8   The Cheviots
9   North Pennines - The Western Fells
10 North Pennines - The Eastern Fells
11 Yorkshire Dales - The Northern Fells
12 Yorkshire Dales - The Southern Fells
13 The Peak District and Dartmoor

Deleted Tops
Alphabetical index of Tops

© Cicerone, 2017 | Terms & Conditions | Site Map | Contact Us