We have resumed delivery for International orders but there may be delays due to Coronavirus. Thank you for your patience.

Walking the Lake District Fells - Coniston

The Old Man of Coniston, Swirl How, Wetherlam, Duddon valley and Eskdale

By Mark Richards

Pre-order - Publishing 12 March 2021

This book is available to pre-order. Payment will be taken upfront and your book will be despatched from our warehouse as soon as it becomes available around the 12 March 2021.

Notify me

Enter your email address to be notified when this title becomes available.

Part of the Walking the Lake District Fells series, this guidebook covers a wide range of routes to 24 Lakeland summits that can be climbed from Coniston, Torver, the Duddon valley and the Birker Fell road, with highlights including Coniston Old Man, Swirl How, Wetherlam and Black Combe. Suggestions for longer ridge routes are also included.


Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Coniston, Broughton, Little Langdale, Torver, Ulpha, Seathwaite-in-Dunnerdale, Eskdale Green, Boot, Ravenglass, Silecroft, Bootle


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes including Coniston Old Man, Swirl How, Wetherlam and Dow Crag, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells such as Black Combe, Yoadcastle, Harter Fell, Caw and Black Fell
Not Yet Published
12 Mar 2021
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.4cm
Cicerone Live FB Event

Live · 2 Mar 2021 7:00pm

Mark Richards on the Fellranger series and sustainable walking

In our March Cicerone Live event, join Cicerone and Fellranger author Mark Richards to celebrate finishing the new editions and discuss sustainable walking in the Lake District.

Table of Contents

Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View author profile