Pocket-sized Fellranger booklet of 14 routes onto Helvellyn, one of the highest Lake District fells, from all points of the compass, with tips on the safest descents and ridge routes to Birkhouse Moor, Catstycam, Nethermost Pike and White Side. Illustrated with Mark Richards' summit panoramas and topo diagrams, photographs and Harvey mapping.

28 Mar 2014
21 Jun 2016
19.6 x 13.0 x 0.3cm
  • Overview

    Helvellyn is perhaps the most well-known fell among the Near Eastern Fells, with its justly famous routes and neighbouring fells such as Striding Edge, St Sunday Crag, Fairfield, Catstycam and Hart Side offering fellranging pleasure and challenge in the area.

    This route booklet is a full-size extract from The Near Eastern Fells guidebook, which itself is part of the eight-volume Lakeland Fellranger series by Mark Richards. This dedicated chapter on Helvellyn covers a variety of routes depicted on Harvey maps. The author's own topos and summit panoramas, not to mention breathtaking photography make sure that your ascent of Helvellyn is one to remember.

    • The route options are all illustrated with HARVEY maps, colour photographs, fellscape diagrams and panorama guides.
    • With alternative routes, height distance and timing information to tailor-make your outing.
    • Also covers information on all the Fellranger guidebooks, basic mountain safety advice, information on the Fix the Fells conservation project, an author biography and details of other Fellranger offers and products.

    The Near Eastern Fells is just one guide of the eight-part Lakeland Fellranger series, covering a total of 227 fells. Where will you go next?

    To explore the Lakeland fells in full, check out all the Fellranger guidebooks: The North-Western Fells, The Northern Fells, The Mid-Western Fells, The Western Fells, The Central Fells, The Southern Fells, The Near Eastern Fells and The Far Eastern Fells.

  • Updates
    Receive updates by email
    Be notified by email when this book receives an update or correction
    We do not yet have any updates available for this book

    We are always grateful to readers for information about any discrepancies between a guidebook and the facts on the ground. If you would like to send some information to us then please use our contact form. They will be published here following review by the author(s).

  • Reviews
    We do not yet have any reviews for this book

    If you would like to send us a review then please use our contact form. They will be published here shortly.

  • Downloads

Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View Articles and Books by Mark Richards