Coronavirus status – you can still buy books and ebooks to plan, enjoy and dream, but any essential messages should be to Please do not phone, as our offices are closed. Thank you!

Walking the Lake District fells

Mark Richard's series of eight detailed guides to walking throughout the Lake District fells. Fellranger guides give comprehensive coverage of the mountains, examining all the main paths and routes to the summits, and providing options for linking fells to create infinite fellwalking options.

M040 Langdale Pikes Map

General information about the summits of the Lake District

As of 2019 the list of Fellranger summits now stands at 230, (previously 227 fells) while the traditional Wainwrights list features 214 fell summits. While most of these are also included within the Fellranger list, some minor Wainwright hills have been discounted, while others found within the broader Lake District region have been included.

Walkers who have reached the summit of all the Fellranger fells can register their achievement in Register 2 on, selecting 2D for the 'Fellrangers' list. A separate list in Register 2 covers the Wainwrights. To submit a claim to be added to the register, there is a 'claim form' to download, complete and return to the Long Distance Walkers Association.

The three additional fells now comprising the 230 'Fellranger's summits are:

Winterscleugh (Bretherdale Common) - 464m/1522ft
Whinfell Beacon - 472m/1549ft
Grayrigg Forest - 494m/1621ft

These are all included in the Mardale and the far east guidebook, to be published in March 2020.

The determination of separate fell status is an inexact science. Considerations such as height, bearing, character and summit situation all come into play and everyone and anyone can have a view. There are numerous instances of a summit resting upon a rising ridge to a clearly more substantive height, for instance Nab Scar/Heron Pike and High Hartsop Dodd/Little Hart Crag.

Walking the Lake District fells: all the fells, all the route

Mark Richards' work and research on the Fellranger series began in 1999, with the first four titles originally published by HarperCollins. Cicerone Press then relaunched the series building the series to its full extent of eight volumes. Now in need of updating, and with additional fell tops added to the list, a new set of eight guidebooks is currently in production. The new guidebooks, Walking the Lake District Fells, are in a more compact and practical format, arranged according to main valley bases from which to easily access the fells. These are:

Walking the Lake District Fells – Wasdale

Walking the Lake District Fells – Langdale

Six more to come...

Tick off the Fellranger fells, and build your list

A full list of all the Fellranger fells, and the guidebook or books where they can be found.

Download panoramas to help you identify the tops

Panorama1Panorama 2

What can you see from the summit of a fell in the Lake District?

Until you become familiar with the Lake District fells, identifying the names of the mountain tops you can see from any particular fell summit can be a little confusing.

Each Fellranger fell has four hand-drawn panoramas indicating the view you will be able to enjoy (on a clear day!) in all four main compass directions.

A limited number of these are included within the new Walking the Lake District Fells guidebooks, however the complete set for each book will be made available on publication, for you to download to take with you, either saved on a device or printed.

Wasdale complete set of panoramas pdf (available here: Walking the Lake District Fells - Wasdale)

Langdale complete set of panoramas pdf (available here: Walking the Lake District Fells - Langdale)

Patterdale complete set of panoramas pdf (available from March 2020)

Mardale and the far east complete set of panoramas pdf (available from March 2020)

Buttermere complete set of panoramas pdf (available from September 2020)

Keswick and the north complete set of panoramas pdf (available from September 2020)

Borrowdale complete set of panoramas pdf (available from March 2021)

Coniston complete set of panoramas pdf (available from March 2021)