Walking in Derbyshire

60 circular walks across the county

By Elaine Burkinshaw

Walking guidebook to 60 circular day walks in Derbyshire and the Peak District. Includes the Derwent, Wye and Trent river valleys, near Derby, Matlock, Glossop, Bakewell and Ripley. Routes range from easy to moderate and are between 4 and 14km (2 to 10 miles). Walks focus on places of interest, from Stone Age forts to castles to grand estates.



Year round


Glossop, Buxton, Bakewell, Matlock, Ripley, Ashbourne, Derby


Easy to moderate day or half-day walks (2.5 to 9.5 miles)
Must See

Must See

Hardwick Hall, Kedleston Hall, Eyam, Chatsworth House, New Mills, Buxton, Cromford, Goyt Valley, Dovedale
11 Jun 2010
5 May 2017
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.6cm
  • Overview

    This guidebook explores 60 walking routes in Derbyshire and the Peak District. 60 circular day walks, ranging from 2 to 10 miles (4 to 14km), offer something for walkers of all abilities. The walks start from bases all over the area including Glossop, Buxton, Bakewell, Matlock, Ripley, Ashbourne and Derby. The routes are illustrated with OS map extracts and accompanied with the author's own photographs, as well as including plenty of practical information on getting to and around Derbyshire and the routes.

    The uniquely contrasting and beautiful Derbyshire landscape is steeped in history. Each route is linked to a main historical theme, and the walks have been arranged in a rough chronological order according to the selected theme, so that you are literally walking through layers of history and treading in the footsteps of past generations. Historic sites including Hardwick Hall, Kedleston Hall, Eyam, Chatsworth House (the fictional Pemberley), New Mills, Cromford, Goyt Valley and Dovedale are also explored, as are Bronze and Iron Age forts, medieval castles and ruined Abbeys. Walking routes pass remnants of ancient civilisations, fine market towns and villages, caverns, castles, country houses and parklands, historic spa resorts and industrial heritage sites, and the book is full of background information detailing the local history.

    Without doubt Derbyshire is one of the most picturesque counties in England, renowned for its varied scenic beauty ranging from wild sombre moorland in the north to sparkling rivers laced with delightful deep dales in the central area and gentle rolling countryside further south.

  • Contents

    The shaping of present-day Derbyshire
    How to use this guide
    The Walks
    1 Creswell Crags
    2 Arbor Low Stone Circle
    3 Baslow, Curbar and Froggatt Edges
    4 Edale and Mam Tor
    5 Longshaw Estate and Carl Wark
    6 Hope, Win Hill and the Navio Roman Fort
    7 Roystone Grange
    8 Castleton
    9 Hartington and Pilsbury Castle
    10 Dale Abbey and Locko Park
    11 Chelmorton
    12 Hartington and Beresford and Wolfscote Dales
    13 Tideswell
    14 Ashbourne
    15 Bakewell and Ashford in the Water
    16 Haddon Hall and Bakewell
    17 Wingfield Manor and Crich
    18 Longshaw Estate and Padley Chapel
    19 Hardwick Hall
    20 Bolsover Castle
    21 Tissington
    22 Eyam
    23 Chatsworth House
    24 Chatsworth House, Bakewell and Edensor
    25 Calke Abbey and Staunton Harold Reservoir
    26 Swarkestone
    27 Shipley Country Park
    28 Kedleston Hall
    29 Magpie Lead Mine
    30 Wirksworth and Middleton Top Engine House
    31 Lathkill Dale and Bradford Dale
    32 Winster, Elton and Robin Hood’s Stride
    33 Carsington and Brassington
    34 Cromford
    35 Pinxton Wharf
    36 Shardlow
    37 Belper
    38 Monsal Head, Litton and Cressbrook
    39 Peak Forest Canal and Torrs Riverside Park
    40 New Mills, Sett Valley Trail and Hayfield
    41 Glossop
    42 Three Shires Head and Flash
    43 Birchen Edge
    44 Pentrich
    45 Elvaston Castle and Country Park
    46 Melbourne Hall
    47 Errwood Hall and Goyt Valley
    48 Osmaston
    49 Hathersage and River Derwent
    50 Hathersage and Stanage Edge
    51 Holloway and Dethick
    52 Midland Railway Centre and Codnor Castle
    53 Tissington and High Peak Trails
    54 Caudwell’s Mill and Nine Ladies Stone Circle
    55 Upper Longdendale Valley
    56 Buxton and its Country Park
    57 Matlock and Matlock Bath
    58 Dovedale
    59 Derwent Dams
    60 Carsington Water

    Appendix Route summary table

  • Maps

    All the walks in this book are covered by the following OS Explorer 1:25,000 maps:

    • OL1 The Peak District Dark Peak Area
    • OL24 The Peak District White Peak Area
    • 28 Sherwood Forest
    • 245 The National Forest
    • 259 Derby
    • 260 Nottingham
    • 269 Chesterfield & Alfreton

    which are widely available in the local area and also from map shops and online.

  • Updates
    Receive updates by email
    Be notified by email when this book receives an update or correction

    Updates included in the 2017 Reprint:


  • Reviews
    We do not yet have any reviews for this book

    If you would like to send us a review then please use our contact form. They will be published here shortly.

  • Other eBook Retailers

    Google Play

    Google Play Books available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS

    Google Play


    Kobo eReader devices plus Kobo App available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS



    Kindle Reader devices plus Kindle App available for Windows, Android, Mac and iOS

  • Downloads
Burkinshaw Elaine2

Elaine Burkinshaw

Elaine Burkinshaw has lived around Sheffield and Manchester all her life, and has a passion for exploring her local area, with particular emphasis on the enjoyment of local history and local attractions.

View Guidebooks by Elaine Burkinshaw