In July, get 15% off our Short Walks range and selected International Day Walking guidebooks and eBooks with the code WALKING15.

Walking the Lake District Fells - Buttermere

High Stile, Grasmoor, Grisedale Pike and Haystacks

Mark Richards' Walking the Lake District Fells series is a unique collection of eight guidebooks with all the routes to the summits of 230 Lakeland fells. This guide explores 32 summits accessible from the Buttermere area. Ideal for keen hikers, it offers route descriptions, maps, and hand-drawn topos to customise adventures.


Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Buttermere, Loweswater, Lorton, Lamplugh, Ennerdale, Black Sail Hut, Braithwaite, Keswick, Little Town (Newlands), Seatoller (Borrowdale)


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes including High Stile, Red Pike, Grasmoor, Grisedale Pike, Hopegill Head, Sail, Fleetwith Pike and Haystacks, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells such as Blake Fell and Knock Murton; superlative ridge walking including the iconic Coledale Horseshoe
8 Oct 2020
17.20 x 11.60 x 15.50cm

Ready for adventure in the Lake District Fells? Cicerone’s Walking the Lake District Fells guides are your ultimate fell-by-fell companions. A series of eight guidebooks, one for each of the main valley bases, cover ALL the routes up ALL the fells in each area – that’s 230 fells in total. 

This guidebook covers 32 Lakeland summits that can be climbed from Buttermere, Crummock Water, Loweswater, Lorton and the Newlands valley. Highlights include Grasmoor, Haystacks, Grisedale Pike, High Stile and Rannerdale Knotts. Suggestions for longer ridge routes are also given. 

Those with some previous hiking experience will find all the info needed to climb the fells with confidence, plus a fresh perspective on both classic and lesser-known fells. Keen summit-baggers can use our tick lists to tick off the fells as they go. 

What sets these guidebooks apart from the rest? 

  • Complete coverage – every route covered, not just the main one.  
  • Devise your own routes a variety of ascents, descents, and ridge routes, so you can choose to climb one fell or combine routes to craft your own adventure. 
  • Up-to-date route information – complete route description and HARVEY mapping for each fell. 
  • Hand-drawn topos and panoramas – easily see the routes up each fell and views from the top. 
  • Fell-friendly routes – designed to minimise environmental impact.  

Table of Contents
Mark Richards Cicerone author RICHAR

By Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View author profile