In July, get 15% off our Short Walks range and selected International Day Walking guidebooks and eBooks with the code WALKING15.

Walking the Lake District Fells - Coniston

The Old Man of Coniston, Swirl How, Wetherlam, Duddon valley and Eskdale

Mark Richards' Walking the Lake District Fells series is a unique collection of eight guidebooks packed with all the routes to the summits of 230 Lakeland fells. This guide explores 24 fells accessible from the Coniston area. Ideal for keen hikers, it offers route descriptions, maps, and hand-drawn topos to customise adventures.


Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Coniston, Broughton, Little Langdale, Torver, Ulpha, Seathwaite-in-Dunnerdale, Eskdale Green, Boot, Ravenglass, Silecroft, Bootle


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes including Coniston Old Man, Swirl How, Wetherlam and Dow Crag, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells such as Black Combe, Yoadcastle, Harter Fell, Caw and Black Fell
26 Feb 2021
17.20 x 11.60 x 1.40cm

Cicerone’s Walking the Lake District Fells guides are your ultimate fell-by-fell companions to the Lake District fells. A series of eight guidebooks, one for each of the main valley bases, each guidebook covers ALL the fells and ALL the routes in the area – that’s 230 fells in total.

This guidebook covers 24 Lakeland summits accessible from Coniston and the Duddon and Eskdale valleys.?Fells like Coniston Old Man, Dow Crag, Wetherlam and Swirl How are much loved for their classic ridges and wide-reaching views, however, to the west, the quieter summits of the Birker and Corney Fell massifs offer more great mountain and maritime vistas.

Ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, keen hillwalkers will find all the info needed to climb the fells with confidence, plus a fresh perspective on both classic and lesser-known fells. If you’re a summit-bagger you can use our tick lists to check off the fells as you climb them.

What sets these guidebooks apart from the rest?

  • Complete coverage – every route covered, not just the main one.
  • Devise your own routes a variety of ascents, descents, and ridge routes, so you can choose to climb one fell or combine routes to craft your own adventure.
  • Up-to-date route information – complete route description and HARVEY mapping for each fell.
  • Hand-drawn topos and panoramas – easily see the routes up each fell and views from the top.
  • Fell-friendly routes – designed to minimise environmental impact. 

Table of Contents
Mark Richards Cicerone author RICHAR

By Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View author profile