In July, get 15% off our Short Walks range and selected International Day Walking guidebooks and eBooks with the code WALKING15.

Walking the Lake District Fells - Mardale and the Far East

High Street and Kentmere

Mark Richards’ Walking the Lake District Fells series is a unique collection of eight guidebooks with all the routes to the summits of 230 Lakeland fells. This guide explores 36 summits from the Mardale area. Designed so peak-baggers can create adventures using the complete route descriptions, HARVEY maps, fell-friendly paths, and hand-drawn topos.


Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Haweswater, Bampton, Shap, Tebay, Grayrigg, Sadgill/Longsleddale, Kentmere, Troutbeck, Ambleside, Hartsop, Patterdale, Howtown, Pooley Bridge, Askham


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.

Must See

Explore the classic summits in the Lakes such as High Street, Place Fell and the Kentmere fells, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells, including the 2016 new additions to the national park, Whinfell Beacon, Grayrigg Forest and Winterscleugh
19 Mar 2020
17.20 x 11.60 x 1.80cm

Ready for adventure in the Lake District Fells? Cicerone’s Walking the Lake District Fells guides are your ultimate fell-by-fell companions. A series of eight guidebooks, one for each of the main valley bases, cover ALL the routes up ALL the fells in each area – that’s 230 fells in total. 

This guidebook covers 36 Lakeland summits accessible from the Kentmere, Haweswater and Ullswater valleys. Highlights include High Street, Place Fell and the Kentmere horseshoe, further east lie less well-known summits that offer solitude and magnificent views. Suggestions for longer ridge routes are also given. 

Those with some previous hiking experience will find all the info needed to climb the fells with confidence, plus a fresh perspective on both classic and lesser-known fells. Keen summit-baggers can use our tick lists to tick off the fells as they go. 

What sets these guidebooks apart from the rest? 

  • Complete coverage – every route covered, not just the main one.  
  • Devise your own routes a variety of ascents, descents, and ridge routes, so you can choose to climb one fell or combine routes to craft your own adventure. 
  • Up-to-date route information – complete route description and HARVEY mapping for each fell. 
  • Hand-drawn topos and panoramas – easily see the routes up each fell and views from the top. 
  • Fell-friendly routes – designed to minimise environmental impact.  

Table of Contents
Mark Richards Cicerone author RICHAR

By Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View author profile