This month we're celebrating our long-distance trails in the Pyrenees. Get 20% off selected titles using code PYRENEES20 at checkout. Find out more here.

Lake District: High Level and Fell Walks

Walking in the Lake District - the highest mountains in England

From classic horseshoes to well-trodden routes onto some of the quieter summits, this guidebook covers 30 all the best high-level fell walks to be had in England's beautiful and much-loved Lake District National Park. including Scafell Pike, Helvellyn, Skiddaw, and the Fairfield Horseshoe.


High level and fell walks in the Lake District can be walked all year but walkers need to be prepared, and suitably equipped. Weather is changeable and snow may fall on the fells any time between November and April.


The walks are divided into 6 sections: the Keswick area, Borrowdale and Buttermere, the Western Valleys, Coniston and Langdale, Ambleside, Grasmere and Windermere, or Ullswater.


Routes range from 7-23km. Every route is graded for difficulty but fell walking covers rocky terrain, grassy hills, and occasional stretches of boggy ground. Some walks include some easy scrambling. Most routes are relatively easy to follow in clear conditions, but may require good navigational skills in bad weather. Many routes require ice and crampons in snow.

Must See

Walk England's highest mountains, including Scafell Pike, Sca Fell, Helvellyn and Skiddaw; hike classic horseshoe routes such as the Newlands Round and the Fairfield Horseshoe; enjoy quieter routes on popular fells such as Blencathra and Red Screes; and visit some lesser known summits, including Gray Crag and Beda Fell.
16 Feb 2024
17.20 x 11.60 x 1.10cm

A guidebook to 30 high level day walks in the Lake District, exploring some of the best mountains, ridgewalks, fells and summits within the national park. Mostly circular except for a few linear routes that make use of public transport links, the walks are graded according to difficulty, ensuring there is something for all levels of fitness and experience.

The walks range from 7 to 24km (4–15 miles) in length and can be completed in between 3 and 9 hours. They are arranged geographically into 6 areas: Keswick, Borrowdale and Buttermere, the Western Valleys, Coniston and Langdale, Ambleside and Windermere, and Ullswater.

  • 1:50,000 OS maps for each walk
  • GPX files available to download
  • Detailed information on terrain, refreshments and public transport for each walk
  • Information given on local history and archaeology
  • Highlights include Scafell Pike, Scafell, Helvellyn, Skiddaw, Newlands Round and the Fairfield Horseshoe

Table of Contents
Vivienne Crow Cicerone author CROW

By Vivienne Crow

Vivienne is an award-winning freelance writer and photographer specialising in travel and the outdoors. A journalist since 1990, she abandoned the constraints of a desk job on regional newspapers in 2001 to go travelling. On her return to the UK, she decided to focus on the activities she loves the most - hill-walking, writing, travelling and photography. Based in north Cumbria, she has put her intimate knowledge of northern England to good use, writing more than a dozen popular walking guidebooks. She also contributes to a number of regional and national magazines, including several regular walking columns. Vivienne is a member of the Outdoor Writers and Photographers Guild. 

View author profile