Ask the Experts: Cycle touring special


Tuesday 1st February 2022 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

In our February Cicerone Live event, ask our experts everything you need to know about cycle touring.

If you've wondered about how to get started with cycle touring, or you need some inspiration for where to go, or perhaps advice on travelling with your bike, then this event is for you! Some of our favourite cycle touring experts will be available to answer your questions - send them in now to live@cicerone.co.uk.

Join us live online on 1st February 2022 at 19:00 UK time (14:00 EST, 13:00 CST, 12:00 MST, 11:00 PST) on the Cicerone website, Cicerone Press Facebook page or YouTube channel.

There will be plenty of opportunity to ask your questions during the event, either by commenting on the video on Facebook or YouTube, or by emailing your questions to live@cicerone.co.uk. We look forward to welcoming our guests and answering your questions.

Can't watch live? We'll send you a link to the recording.

About the guests

Mike Wells

Mike Wells is an author of both walking and cycling guides and has been a keen cyclist for over 20 years. After completing various UK routes, such as Lon Las Cymru in Wales and the C2C route across northern England, he moved on to cycling long-distance routes in continental Europe and beyond. These include cycling both the Camino and Ruta de la Plata to Santiago de la Compostela, a traverse of Cuba from end to end, a circumnavigation of Iceland and a trip across Lapland to the North Cape.

Carl McKeating

Carl McKeating is the co-author with Rachel Crolla of several books, including Europe’s High Points,Walking in the Auvergne and Outdoor Adventures with Children: Lake District published by Cicerone. A keen cyclist, in recent years Carl has cycled the Way of the Roses and Yorkshire Dales Cycle Way as day challenges. Carl is passionate about enthusing the next generation of cyclists with a love of the outdoors.

John Hayes

John Hayes is a retired management consultant with degrees from Liverpool University and University College London. Immediately after finishing work in 2011 he embarked on an epic 5,000km trek across Europe, walking from Tarifa in Spain to Budapest. John has written for numerous walking and trekking magazines, and has written four walking guides and a cycling guide for Cicerone.

Get involved with Cicerone