Win Your Basket competition. Place an order for a chance to win a full refund.

Scrambling in the Lake District with Paul Rose and John Fleetwood


Tuesday 4th May 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

In our May Cicerone Live event, join Cicerone author John Fleetwood and special guest Paul Rose to explore scrambling in the Lake District.

Watch the event live online on 4th May 2021 at 19:00 BST (14:00 EST, 13:00 CST, 12:00 MST, 11:00 PST) on the Cicerone website, Cicerone Press Facebook page or YouTube channel. There will be plenty of opportunity to ask your questions to Paul and John during the event - either by commenting on the video on Facebook or YouTube, or by emailing your questions to live@cicerone.co.uk. We look forward to welcoming Paul and John and hearing what your questions are.

About our guests

Paul Rose is a man at the front line of exploration and one of the world’s most experienced divers, field science and polar experts. With extensive experience as a television presenter and radio broadcaster, Paul has presented programmes for the BBC on the Lake District, the Cleveland Way, the Pennine Way, Way of the Roses, and plenty more routes and expeditions. He is the Former Vice President of the Royal Geographical Society and Chair of the Expeditions and Fieldwork Division, and is currently Expedition Leader for the National Geographic Pristine Seas Expeditions.

He was the Base Commander of Rothera Research Station, Antarctica, for the British Antarctic Survey for 10 years and was awarded HM The Queen's Polar Medal. For his work with NASA and the Mars Lander project on Mt Erebus, Antarctica, he received the US Polar Medal.

Paul is a mountain and polar guide leading Greenland Icecap crossing and mountaineering expeditions and polar science support logistics. On his 2012 Greenland expedition, Paul led the first expedition to successfully traverse a new 275km icecap route of Knud Rasmussen Land and repeated his first ascent of the north face of Gunnsbjørnfjeld, the highest mountain in the Arctic.

https://www.paulrose.org/

John Fleetwood is the author of Cicerone's new guidebooks to Scrambles in the Lake District - North and Scrambles in the Lake District - South. He has lived in the Lake District for over 20 years, and over that time he has developed an intimate knowledge of the area. John loves exploring and has sought to visit every potential crag in the area to find new routes.

John is a keen runner, photographer and mountaineer and was the first person to complete the Bob Graham, Ramsay and Paddy Buckley rounds in winter, as well as being a previous winner of the FRA Long Distance Award.

In 2015, John traversed the Alps in a self-supported trip taking in 60 summits over 1850km. He has climbed and walked in South America, China, Iceland, Norway and the European Alps as well as Britain. When not in the hills, John runs a sustainable investment ratings company.

Get involved with Cicerone