Unfortunately the warehouse is still closed for stocktake. Orders will start to be dispatched Tuesday 21st but there will be delays.

Walking the Lake District Fells - Mardale and the Far East

High Street and Kentmere

By Mark Richards

Pre-order - Publishing 15 March 2020

This book is available to pre-order. Payment will be taken upfront and your book will be despatched from our warehouse as soon as it becomes available around the 15 March 2020.

Notify me

Enter your email address to be notified when this title becomes available.

Part of the Walking the Lake District Fells series, this guidebook covers a wide range of routes to 36 Lakeland summits that can be climbed from the Ullswater, Haweswater, Troutbeck, Kentmere and Longsleddale valleys, with highlights including High Street, Place Fell and the Kentmere fells. Suggestions for longer ridge routes are also included.


Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Haweswater, Bampton, Shap, Tebay, Grayrigg, Sadgill/Longsleddale, Kentmere, Troutbeck, Ambleside, Hartsop, Patterdale, Howtown, Pooley Bridge, Askham


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes such as High Street, Place Fell and the Kentmere fells, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells, including the 2016 new additions to the national park, Whinfell Beacon, Grayrigg Forest and Winterscleugh
Not Yet Published
15 Mar 2020
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.8cm
Table of Contents

Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View author profile