Walking the Lake District Fells - Wasdale

The Scafells, Great Gable, Pillar

By Mark Richards

Pre-order - Publishing 15 September 2019

This book is available to pre-order. Payment will be taken upfront and your book will be despatched from our warehouse as soon as it becomes available around the 15 September 2019.

Notify me

Enter your email address to be notified when this title becomes available.
Please enter a valid email address

Part of the Walking the Lake District Fells series, this guidebook covers a wide range of routes to 25 Lakeland summits that can be climbed from the Wasdale, Eskdale and Ennerdale valleys, with highlights including Scafell Pike, Great Gable and Pillar. Suggestions for longer ridge routes are also included.



Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Wasdale Head, Nether Wasdale, Santon Bridge, Gosforth, Boot, Eskdale Green, Black Sail Hut youth hostel, Ennerdale Bridge, Lamplugh


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.
Must See

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes including Scafell Pike, Scafell, Great Gable, Pillar, Great End, Kirk Fell, Lingmell and Yewbarrow, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells such as Haycock and Slight Side
Not Yet Published
15 Sep 2019
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.4cm
  • Overview

    This guide describes ascents of 25 Lake District fells that can be climbed from the valleys of Wasdale, Eskdale and Ennerdale. Quieter and wilder than the eastern side of the national park – though every bit as beautiful – this area is home to many of the region's most celebrated peaks, with highlights including iconic Great Gable, Pillar and Yewbarrow, as well as England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

    Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options. These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities – from simple ascents to longer ridge routes. You'll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit. The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes themselves, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in. Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days.

    Mark Richards' inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author's own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas. Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size. These true connoisseurs' guides are sure to inspire you to get out and explore the beautiful fells of Lakeland.

  • Contents

    Valley bases
    Fix the Fells
    Using this guide
    Safety and access
    Additional online resources
    1 Buckbarrow
    2 Caw Fell
    3 Crag Fell
    4 Eskdale Moor
    5 Great End
    6 Great Gable
    7 Great How
    8 Grike
    9 Haycock
    10 Illgill Head
    11 Iron Crag
    12 Kirk Fell
    13 Lank Rigg
    14 Lingmell
    15 Middle Fell
    16 Pillar
    17 Red Pike
    18 Scafell
    19 Scafell Pike
    20 Scoat Fell
    21 Seatallan
    22 Slight Side
    23 Steeple
    24 Whin Rigg
    25 Yewbarrow
    Ridge routes
    1 The Roof of England
    2 The Mosedale Round
    3 The Nether Beck Horseshoe
    4 The Upper Ennerdale Round
    More to explore

    Appendix A Useful contacts
    Appendix B A fellranger’s glossary
    Appendix C Alphabetical list of 230 Fellranger fells

  • Updates
    Receive updates by email
    Be notified by email when this book receives an update or correction
    We do not yet have any updates available for this book

    We are always grateful to readers for information about any discrepancies between a guidebook and the facts on the ground. If you would like to send some information to us then please use our contact form. They will be published here following review by the author(s).

  • Reviews
    We do not yet have any reviews for this book

    If you would like to send us a review then please use our contact form. They will be published here shortly.

  • Downloads

Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View Articles and Books by Mark Richards