Walking the Lake District Fells - Langdale

The Langdale Pikes and Bowfell

By Mark Richards

Pre-order - Publishing 15 September 2019

This book is available to pre-order. Payment will be taken upfront and your book will be despatched from our warehouse as soon as it becomes available around the 15 September 2019.

Notify me

Enter your email address to be notified when this title becomes available.
Please enter a valid email address

Part of the Walking the Lake District Fells series, this guidebook covers a wide range of routes to 25 Lakeland summits that can be climbed from the Great Langdale valley, Ambleside and Grasmere, with highlights including Scafell Pike, Bowfell, the Langdale Pikes and Helm Crag (the Lion and the Lamb). Includes suggestions for longer ridge routes.



Year-round walking. Winter walks, even on the lower fells, are not for the inexperienced or under-equipped.


Ambleside, Grasmere, Rydal, Elterwater, Chapel Stile, the Old and New Dungeon Ghyll hotels


Straightforward ascents on sometimes clear, sometimes faint paths, and occasionally pathless terrain, to be used as a basis for readers' own walks. Navigational skills are needed but no specialist equipment. Any scrambling is easy and non-scrambling alternatives are always provided.
Must See

Must See

A fresh perspective on classic summits in the Lakes including Bowfell, Crinkle Crags, Great End, Helm Crag, Loughrigg, Scafell Pike and the Langdale Pikes, and an inspiring introduction to lesser-known Lakeland fells such as Blea Rigg and Little Stand
Not Yet Published
15 Sep 2019
17.2 x 11.6 x 1.4cm
  • Overview

    This guide describes ascents of 25 Lake District fells that can be climbed from Langdale and the Vale of Grasmere. Easily accessible from the popular bases of Grasmere and Ambleside, this area offers stunning scenery and fantastic walking, from the 'small but perfectly made' Loughrigg – ideal for a Sunday afternoon hike – to eye-catching Helm Crag ('the Lion and the Lamb'), from the lofty heights of Bowfell to the iconic Langdale Pikes. England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike, is also included in this volume.

    Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options. These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities – from simple ascents to longer ridge routes. You'll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit. The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes themselves, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in. Also included are a handful of classic ridge routes for longer fell days.

    Mark Richards' inimitable text is complemented by HARVEY mapping and the author's own beautiful sketch topos and panoramas. Perfect for keen hillwalkers and peak-baggers alike and ideal both for pre-planning and use on the hill, Walking the Lake District Fells is the new incarnation of the Fellranger series, which sees the volumes updated and trimmed to a more practical size. These true connoisseurs' guides are sure to inspire you to get out and explore the beautiful fells of Lakeland.

  • Contents

    Valley bases
    Fix the Fells
    Using this guide
    Safety and access
    Additional online resources
    1 Blea Rigg
    2 Bowfell
    3 Calf Crag
    4 Cold Pike
    5 Crinkle Crags
    6 Esk Pike
    7 Gibson Knott
    8 Great End
    9 Harrison Stickle
    10 Helm Crag
    11 High Raise
    12 Lingmoor Fell
    13 Little Stand
    14 Loft Crag
    15 Loughrigg Fell
    16 Pavey Ark
    17 Pike o’Blisco
    18 Pike o’Stickle
    19 Rossett Pike
    20 Scafell Pike
    21 Sergeant Man
    22 Silver How
    23 Steel Fell
    24 Tarn Crag
    25 Thunacar Knott
    Ridge routes
    1 The Great Langdale Round
    2 The Langdale Pikes
    3 The Easedale Skyline
    4 The Greenburn Horseshoe
    More to explore

    Appendix A Useful contacts
    Appendix B A fellranger’s glossary
    Appendix C Alphabetical list of 230 Fellranger fells

  • Updates
    Receive updates by email
    Be notified by email when this book receives an update or correction
    We do not yet have any updates available for this book

    We are always grateful to readers for information about any discrepancies between a guidebook and the facts on the ground. If you would like to send some information to us then please use our contact form. They will be published here following review by the author(s).

  • Reviews
    We do not yet have any reviews for this book

    If you would like to send us a review then please use our contact form. They will be published here shortly.

  • Downloads

Mark Richards

In 1980 Mark Richards began his three-part guide to the Peak District for Cicerone Press, and in 1987, with Chris Wright, wrote a guide to walking around the former county of Westmorland. He now lives in Cumbria and, after 14 years' dedicated research, has completed his series of Lakeland Fellranger guides covering the entire region. He has also written a guide to Hadrian's Wall.

View Articles and Books by Mark Richards